A new Council Leader and Executive are now in place for Guildford Borough Council. The new Council Leader is Cllr Caroline Reeves and the Deputy Leader is Cllr Fiona White.


The Leader is responsible for appointing the lead councillors and determining their areas of responsibility. Together they form the Executive, listed below.

Cllr Caroline Reeves, Council Leader: Sustainable Transport, Transformation and Regeneration, Economic Development, Asset Management, Governance

Cllr Fiona White, Deputy Council Leader: Safeguarding, Inclusion, Public Safety, Community Safety, Vulnerable Families

Cllr Julia McShane: Health and Wellbeing, the Voluntary Sector, Grants Panel, Play Strategy, Project Aspire

Cllr Angela Goodwin: Housing (social and affordable), Homelessness, Access and Disability

Cllr Jan Harwood: Planning, Planning Policy, Housing Delivery through planning

Cllr Pauline Searle: Arts, Parks and Countryside

Cllr James Steel: Leisure, Heritage, Tourism

Cllr David Goodwin: Licensing, Parking, Refuse, Recycling

Cllr Joss Bigmore: Finance and Customer Service

Cllr Susan Parker: Environment and Rural Strategy

Cllr John Rigg: Holds a supporting role (without voting rights) as Deputy Lead Councillor on Sustainable Transport, Transformation and Regeneration, Business Development

The council’s committees meet regularly to make decisions. You can find out when meetings are taking place by viewing our committee calendar.

You can find the agendas, reports, minutes and the councillor membership of each committee by visiting www.guildford.gov.uk/yourcouncil